Is it the new coat?

“Would you like to sit down?”

Today is not a good day.

I stepped out of the door this morning, wearing my brand new winter coat. It’s finally cold enough to break out the heavy arsenal. I’ve been waiting for this day for the last 3 weeks. Ever since I bought my beautiful, emerald-green coat, I’ve been dying to strut down the road exhibiting my new acquisition. All smiles, I set off for the tube.

Little was I to know what was waiting for me…

Well, there I was, standing on a packed train – in my new coat – and a lady looks up from the book she’s reading… “Would you like to sit down?”. I reply coldly “No. Thank you”.  Apparently, I look like a heavily pregnant lady. Great. This is not the first time it’s happened, and I’m sure it won’t be the last, but it still hurts like hell every time.

Is this the ultimate insult? Am I actually that fat, that I get confused with a heavily pregnant woman? You’d think that when this happened the first time, I would’ve immediately jumped into a fitness regime and dropped those pounds as fast as possible. You’d think….

Apparently, I like these horribly painful moments. What’s wrong with me?

2 thoughts on “Is it the new coat?

  1. Hey Lynne.
    Wow, I think writing a blog about it is the best thing that you could do, because you will then see just how much support you have….. I’ll definitely be here rooting for you! But you must also TRY and remember/believe that those ‘you look lovely’ comments are ALL TRUE, because you are a freakin’ beautiful girl!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! DAMIT!

Leave a Reply

