Things I’m grateful for.

A friend recently pointed out that as much as she loves reading my blog, there seems to be a lot of negativity that I write about. At first I was a bit surprised, but after giving it some thought – and as much as I hate to admit it! – she’s right.

So, I’m going to start with little steps and work my way up. By the way, these are in no particular order…… 😉

I am grateful for so many things in my life, but am guilty of not reminding myself of them each day. I really should try harder.

So, what am I grateful for?

1. MY FAMILY

We are close in a very non-obvious way. 😉 I miss them terribly, and   talking to them on Skype at the weekends doesn’t really cut it. I miss my Dad’s wisdom, my Mom’s infinite patience and my annoying brother who’ll never admit he actually kinda likes me. I am who I am because of them. There’s no “thank you” that can ever convey that enough.

2. GREG

I love this man more than anything. And after all the crap he puts up with from me, he’ll still give me a hug, a kiss and make me smile. He makes me laugh more than anybody I’ve ever met. No words. As the Beatles to eloquently put it…”All you need is love.” 🙂

3. MY AMAZING FRIENDS

I don’t have many friends, but those who are my friends, mean the world to me. I can’t think of anything I’ve ever gone through in my life without their constant support and understanding. I know all I need to do is pick up a phone and they’ll be there for me. What more could a girl ask for?

4.  BEING ABLE

There are many days when I genuinely feel sorry for myself. I hate having those days, because they seem so silly in the grand scheme of things. I am able to do anything I want, in the sense that I’m not held back by any physical or mental disability. I should be more grateful and aware of this everyday.

5. MY SENSE OF HUMOUR

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not the regular “funny guy”, but I have a very weird and dark sense of humour. Very few a privy to this dark side, but I know I can make people laugh. I don’t take myself too seriously and I can give just as good as I get. Laughter is the spice of life, isn’t it?

6. PUDDY

For those not in the know, Greg and I have the most beautiful kitty kat.We named her Puddy, which is short for Pudding, because she has a rather junoesque physique and therefore looks like she’s scoffed her face full of puddings and pie. I love going home to her every single day. She’s a little crazy, but I like it that way. She makes me so happy (even when I get woken up at 4am for scratches)!

7. A JOB

I know this seems a bit silly, but almost every time I open a newspaper, I read a story about current levels of unemployment. I am just so grateful just to have a job (although it’s not my dream job), so that I can afford a roof over my head and dinner to put on the table.

8.  MUSIC

I don’t listen to music the way most people do. At least, I don’t think that I do. You want to understand me? Listen to the music I listen to. It cheers you up, it gets you down, it takes your across the rainbow of feelings. It’s more important than people think. I love listening to music – all kinds – but really listening to it. With your heart and with your soul. What other way is there?

9. BOOKS

Again, a bit of a weird one. How can I explain? When I walk into someone’s house and look at their bookshelf, it tells me the kind of person they are. I love that. I love that I can get completely immersed in a book and some will even stay with me forever. I love my imagination when I read a good book. It knows no bounds. My Dad taught me the importance of reading and it’s one of the best lessons I ever learned.

10. ME

There are a lot of things that I want to change about myself. My weight -which is the reason for starting this blog – being one of the main things at the moment. I’m impatient, stubborn, have no willpower, etc. However, I like that I’m the kind of person who sticks to what I believe in. I have my own set of morals and values which I believe are right for me. I know that I will never falter from them and they are what define me.

Well, that’s all that my heart and my brain can handle for today. I hope I’ve made my friend proud…..you know who you are! 😉

Now, what are you grateful for??

xxx

5 thoughts on “Things I’m grateful for.

  1. Hey ! I just wanted to say that I love this blog. I might use this idea as well if you don’t mind ? I write in Finnish though you probably won’t understand it if you want to read it. (:

    • Hi!
      I just wanted to say thank you so much for your lovely comment. I really appreciate it! It’s great to know that someone out there reads and loves my blog.
      I would love to read yours to……I’ll just use google translate to read it!
      Thanks again! xxx

      • Haha, google is not so good but I think you will still understand something.. At least I hope so !

  2. Pingback: things I’m grateful for « tiiamariia

Leave a Reply

