Here’s to trying harder!

The only thing I’ve been wanting all week is a bag of Salt & Vinegar crisps. To have in front of the telly with an accompaniment of coffee…..Trust me, it’s an ingenious combination!

So, when faced with the opportunity of buying a bag on Saturday (and not just any bag…….South African Simba Salt & Vinegar Chips), I had to use all my strength and will power to turn it down. It actually hurt……physically hurt. Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating a little, but you get the picture!

Well, after 30mins of feeling bummed out and convinced that my stomach hated me for my decision, I actually started feeling good about it. I actually had the will power to say “No”. Obviously I was very proud of myself and celebrated this win of mind over tummy by having some lovely buttermilk rusks with my coffee when I got home. Now, I know you’re all going to say that two little rusks aren’t much in the grand scheme of things, but it reminded me of something….

A friend of mine once told me that whenever she lost weight and felt really good about herself or got a nice compliment, she’d celebrate with a giant piece of cake. Ah, female logic you say…..But after some hard thinking, I discovered that I do exactly the same thing. Now, I know my indiscretion wasn’t a piece of cake, but I had rusks and unfortunately I have to admit – I had some peanut M&M’s when I went to the movies on Friday. Shock horror! Granted, these two food items didn’t make me balloon up and burst out of my clothes, but it made me think even harder…..

I’m not sure if I’m taking this seriously enough. Some people might disagree with me about this, but I feel that I have to be really strict and firm with myself for at least the first 3 or 4 months of this new lifestyle. It’s just so that I can get myself into better habits and routines and then give myself a little more slack. Although I’m not cutting out any food or going over the top with anything, I should be working harder at this. I break from my “rules” every so often and it might not be all that detrimental, but what if my little breaks get worse and become big breaks?

I skipped gym on Sunday. I knew I should’ve gone and I felt guilty all day. I got the judgemental eye not just from my boyfriend, but Puddy the cat seemed to know about it to. Not good. My justification was that I’d been really good all week and didn’t feel like schlepping all the way to the gym. I wanted a chilled out day. This is the kind of thing I’m talking about…..I need to get my head back in the game. I’m going to hit the gym this week and hit it hard.

No more excuses Lynne and no more Salt & Vinegar crisps…….well, at least not for the next 3 months! 😉

xxx

2 thoughts on “Here’s to trying harder!

Leave a Reply

