Everyone needs to read this!

It’s been a busy couple of weeks for me, and I feel as if I’ve really been neglecting my blog lately. So, I’d been thinking about what to write next, when I woke up on Friday 11th March to news reports of a massive earthquake off the coast of Japan and resulting in a catastrophic tsunami hitting the island itself. Now, I know that this is a blog about my weight loss and it’s a way of charting my progress and my feelings along the way. But, in light of these events, I’ve decided to write about this unimaginable natural disaster instead.

This blog is meant to be for something good, and helping those in Japan is the best thing to do right now. I was going to write about feeling a bit under pressure lately, not dedicating everything to my weight loss plan right now and just generally feeling disappointed with myself. However, if I put this into perspective……

I’m still alive; I haven’t lost any close friends or family; I still have my cat Puddy; I have a house I can return to at the end of a long day; I have food to put on the table; I have freedom and I don’t have to face the impossible task of rebuilding my entire life. I can’t even begin to imagine what that must feel like, so I’m trying to do my bit to help in any way I can. I think that if everyone took a couple of minutes and had a dig in their pockets, we could really make a difference.

Personally, I’ll be donating mainly to Animal Welfare charities as I feel the majority of donations normally goes to charities aiding people or populations who need it the most. In my opinion, animals are often the forgotten ones and they don’t deserve to be. Unlike people, animals can’t tell us that they’re hurt or suffering, and they need charities to help them speak on their behalf. I can’t stress how important this is. I will of course also be donating to humanitarian aid (The Red Cross and Global Giving), but please everyone, if you can, take a moment to remember and help all those lost and injured animals. Every penny makes a difference!

I’ve been having a look this morning, and have found the following animal charities currently involved in Animal Rescue in Japan:

These are the charities I’m aware of at the moment. Please donate if you can! Please & Thank You.

I think it’s best said by Mahatma Gandhi – “The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated.”

xxx

Leave a Reply

