My first race of the year!

So, I survived my first 5km of the year! I am quite proud of myself for just getting on with it, although it wasn’t my best time ever…. 😦

I completed the Clapham Common Innovation Sports 5km last Sunday in 39mins. I really wanted to beat my previous time of 37mins, but alas, I wasn’t up for it on the day. However, I suspect it was because I went for what was supposed to be a quick run on the Saturday morning, but it turned into 5km. Apparently you should rest the day before a race. Who knew! 😉 Well, it was a lovely day out, and I met my friend Gordon who ran the 10km on the day. I wasn’t quite ready for that so I let him get on with it! His girlfriend, Debbie, was also there to cheer us on from the sidelines which really helped! I do wish that my time was better, but I’m just starting out and am in the process of getting more fit and also healthier.

With Gordon & Debbie after finishing the race.

The reasons I’m not too disappointed with my result are threefold:

1. I started and finished a 5km race.

2. I saw this race as a measure of my abilities and am now aware of how hard I have to push myself in training for my 10km.

3. I went for a run on Saturday and without noticing, actually ran 5km in 33mins. So I know that I’m capable of achieving a better time!

With my medal after finishing the race!

All in all, I’m pleased with the outcome and can only look forward to training for my 10km in July. The best bit for me, was that I actually enjoyed the run and I didn’t feel too badly afterwards. I had my Ipod on and just got on with business. Although, the track is a little confusing and just when I thought I was at the finish, they steer you away in another direction to run the last kilometre. That really messed with my head and I think I mentally gave up at that point. I was so tired and when I saw the sign for the last kilometre, my body seemed to say “I’m done”. Well, I finished and can now only improve.

Another surprise was that I ran into my friend Harry, who was running the 10km on the day. He’s in the process of training for the London Marathon at the end of April, and so is another friend of mine, Jodie. Harry is running for the Multiple Sclerosis Trust and Jodie is running for the British Heart Foundation. If anyone wants to help them out with donations, just click on their names and it’ll take you to their respective pages. What they’re doing is so admirable and I take my hat off to them for making such a huge commitment. Please check out their pages everyone!

Me with Harry, who ran the 10km!

The last thing I want to say is that I’m slowly realising what a commitment running is. It’s so much harder than you think. It’s tough and you constantly have to push yourself, because nobody’s going to do that for you. It hurts and it’s punishing at times. But it’s personal in a way and in the end, it’s incredibly rewarding. I think I’ve finally found something that I can embrace and stick with, although I’m still pretty rubbish at it right now! 🙂

7 thoughts on “My first race of the year!

  1. Congratulations Lynne!
    5kms! I don’t even want to think about it. It must be boring like hell! But you’ve got a strong will and a lot of determination.

    Go Lynne go!
    Chris.

  2. Pingback: Sunday is almost here! « lynne2thin

Leave a Reply

