The Jean Incident.

                                                                                                                                                    

I recently thought it a good idea to dig up an old pair of jeans from deep down in the cupboard. You know, the section labelled “Clothes that used to fit me”. Part of me felt that I was being a bit premature, yet the other half was just too curious.

So it was that I found myself, jeans in hand, in the bedroom listening intently to whether Greg (the boyfriend) was still busy on the computer and wouldn’t interrupt this important moment. Let’s face it, no woman wants to be caught desperately trying to squeeze into a pair of “too tiny for your massive thighs” jeans. Especially by a man. That awkward moment of silence where his eyes are judging you, but he knows that if he had to comment, he’d be a dead man. This scenario should be avoided at all costs. If they don’t fit…..nobody needs to know.

With this thought in mind, I heard Greg furiously typing away in the study and I decided that this was my moment. As fast as lightning, I undressed and tried on my old pair of jeans. I held my breath……..THEY FIT!! I couldn’t believe it. I was over the moon. With a bounce in my step, I triumphantly marched into the study to show off my new/old jeans. Greg was suitably impressed and made all the correct remarks. He even threw in a couple of ooohs and aaahs. Ecstasy.

I went to bed that evening mentally planning my next days’ outfit around the jeans. I imagined myself walking into work, people noticing and maybe a compliment here or there. I can’t even begin to explain how good I felt. I finally had some sort of evidence that I was losing weight and that I’m headed in the right direction. It felt like I was skipping around on a cloud.

The next morning I woke up in an even better mood. I got dressed and the jeans still fit (sigh of relief). I was ready for the day. Little did I know my dream was about to be shattered.

Greg: “Do you know there’s a huge hole in your jeans?”

Lynne: “NNNOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!”  **dreams shattered**

It turns out, that in my excitement, I never noticed the massive hole in the front of the jeans. I was gutted. There was nothing I could do. Greg frantically tried to make me feel better and I tried to keep a brave face. However, when my bottom lip started quivering, we both knew it was a lost cause. There I was in floods of tears and my poor boyfriend not knowing what to do with me. I begrudgingly put on my old jeans and headed for work. I was miserable all day. Ask my colleagues.

I later received an e-mail from Greg urging me to go shopping for a new pair of jeans……His treat. Well, I didn’t have to be told twice. Do I have an awesome boyfriend or what? 🙂

Well, the good that came out of this drama, is that I now own a brand spanking new pair of jeans & I’m a size down! I didn’t even reach for my old size in the shops. It felt amazing. So, with Greg’s money and my continual weight loss, I’m hoping to add loads more clothes to the wardrobe soon! Of course, Greg doesn’t know this yet. Shhhh….don’t tell him. Hehehehee!

xxx

2 thoughts on “The Jean Incident.

Leave a Reply

