Random Epiphany.

I was sitting at work this morning and suddenly a brilliant thought popped into my head. This is something I wanted to share and I also think it is something everyone should try to live by. Well, here it is…..my realisation:

Conform only to yourself and you will be happy.

I spend so much time worrying about what other people think about me and what I should or shouldn’t do. I’m constantly apologising for things that I have an absolute right to turn down or for what I perceive to be an inconvenience to people. Why am I spending all this time trying to please everyone else? It’s not making ME happy. If anything, it just causes me more stress and anxiety.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not suggesting that I adopt a rude “I don’t care about anything” attitude. I’m merely saying that I should do what makes me happy. I shouldn’t care about inconsequential things expected from me by people who don’t even play a huge role in my life. They don’t matter. Of course the opinions of my close friends and family matter a great deal to me, but apart from them, nobody else’s should. Perhaps this sounds a little harsh, but to me it makes sense.

Thinking this way gives you so much freedom. Like a weight being lifted off your shoulders. I should do what I want to do with my life. Who cares about Tom, Dick or Harry for that matter?

So, I’m going to try to start every day with this in mind…..

xxx

Leave a Reply

