Regrets.

I recently overheard a conversation where the two parties involved were discussing their regrets in life. It got me thinking…..

I’ve always subscribed to the ideal that nobody should have any regrets. I mean, you might think back and wish you’d done something differently, or wish you’d chosen a different path. But despite these thoughts and wishes, those paths you’ve chosen have brought you to where you are today and have shaped you to become the person you are. My logic says, how can anyone then have any regrets when every person is amazing in their own right? Life is too hard to keep kicking yourself for making mistakes in the past. You can’t change anything you’ve already done, so why regret it?

Well, it turns out I have a regret. One, singular regret. I regret that I’ve allowed myself to get to the weight that I am now. Not because of vanity, but simply because of the effect that it’s had on me. For the last 7 years, my weight has dictated every single aspect of my life.

It’s robbed me of confidence in so many ways. I lack the self-assurance to do even the simplest of things, from making new friends or acquaintances to applying for a new job. I look in the mirror and the confidence I once had, is gone. Nothing is simple anymore. I can’t even remember the last time I walked into a clothing store and bought something I liked. These days I have to strategically plan for buying anything, and frankly, it’s depressing. I have a sweater collection second to none, because I’m terrified of even showing my flabby arms in public – even in the summer! My weight also affects my relationship. In more ways than I care to explain, but let’s just say…..Greg deserves a medal!

I think what bothers me the most, is that I LET this happen. I allowed this and I have nobody else to blame. This is all my fault and my fault alone. I’ve watched my weight climb for years now, and I just never did anything about it. Why, I’ll never understand.

Well, I was discussing all this with Greg the other day and he pointed out something that I hadn’t thought of. He told me that although my weight has affected me so much, I am now on the right path to a better and healthier future. This will undoubtedly be one of the hardest things I’ll ever have to do, but it’ll be worth every struggling day. Above all, it’ll shape me into the person I’m meant to be. So, in the grand scheme of things, my weight loss journey will also have another profound effect on my life. And a good one at that!

So, after careful consideration…….Do I have any regrets? No.

I stumbled across the above note on Google recently, and I just thought I’d share it with you all…..

3 thoughts on “Regrets.

  1. Think of it this way… you’re a lovely person and always will be… you’re in the process of achieving goals and done ‘very’ well so far. You have a loving husband and a great life. Let the little details become pleasurable and keep pushing yourself as you already have done. Don’t knock yourself down… the results from such efforts in life are a blessing, and an all-rounder no-regret feeling! Keep it up and have a fantastic one this summer. Think of ways to use it to your advantage esp with your regimes. Everyones in a struggle of their own whether they choose to talk about it openly or not, you can do it 😉 Look forward and upward… (past is past) X

Leave a Reply

