Sunday is almost here!

I’ve got another 5K coming up on Sunday. It’s the Clapham Common Innovation Sports Series, and I’m quite excited. I’ve done this one before, so will feel more comfortable running it as I’m now familiar with the course. So, I’m confident that I’ll do okay.

My main aim, is just to beat my time I logged on my previous race. If I can do that, I’ll be proud of myself. When I ran the previous Clapham Common 5K, I finished third or second from last, and I’ll be honest, it really wasn’t a great feeling. I struggled through the race and the last kilometre was the hardest. Mainly because I thought I was closer to the finish than I actually was. It more mental than physical, and that defeated me in the end.

So, with that in mind, there are a couple of things I want to do differently this time:

  1. Concentrate on running more on the balls of my feet and hopefully avoid serious shin splints.
  2. Take good care of my feet. The last two runs I’ve done in the park resulted in blisters on the inside of my right foot. So, I’m going to bandage them up and just be aware of how I’m running, and do it carefully.
  3. I’m taking my iPod/Nike tracker to know exactly how far I’ve run and how much I still have left to do. This way, I’ll be fully aware of where I am on the course and thereby cancel out the mental fatigue.
  4. I’m not going to do any exercise on Saturday, and will hopefully feel more rested before Sunday’s race.

Well, I’m confident that I’ll do well on Sunday and improve my time. So, spare a thought for little ol’ me pounding the park/pavements of Clapham Common on Sunday morning!

xxx

One thought on “Sunday is almost here!

  1. Pingback: Second race of the year…..done! « lynne2thin

Leave a Reply

