So, tomorrow’s the big day!

It’s finally arrived. The race I’ve been most nervous about. Tomorrow is the British 10K.

I think I’m prepared for it. I’ve done my training, and although I’m yet to run a full 10km, I’ve done 7km in training before. So what’s an extra 3, right? Well, that’s what my logic is telling me at the moment. The nerves are starting to kick in a little and I’m sure that I’ll have all kinds of butterflies in my stomach, come tomorrow morning. But maybe that’s a good thing….more adrenaline to get me through it.

I’m taking it easy today. I’ve been resting my legs a lot and making sure that I’m drinking loads of water. My shins have been a bit of a worry this week, so I hope tomorrow won’t be too hard on my legs. I’m going to eat a simple meal tonight – a little protein, some carbs and teeny bit of veg. Tomorrow morning I’ll have a bowl of oats, with chopped banana and a teaspoon of peanut butter for energy. That should keep me energised for the race.

My strategy for tomorrow? Well, I’m hoping to finish in 1hr20 – 1hr30, so if I run for 8mins and walk for 2mins I just have to repeat that 9 times and I’m done. I want to aim for smaller/shorter goals which are more achievable than thinking of the bigger picture. I know myself, and when I start thinking about how far I still have to go, I start losing focus and my pace and frame of mind suffers. I definitely don’t want that tomorrow.

A friend gave me good advice. She said not to think of it as a race. Essentially I’m not racing anyone, and that I should just crank up the music on my iPod and enjoy the atmosphere. I’m running for Dogs Trust, and all I want to do is finish in a respectable time. That can’t be too hard, right? I know I can do this.

Well, please think of me at 9:35am tomorrow morning. I’m going to need all the positive vibes I can get! 🙂

4 thoughts on “So, tomorrow’s the big day!

  1. You go girl!!!! We are behind you 100%!

    Looking forward to your report on the run. I read your post to your parents tonight and they are also very proud of you. Enjoy the run and the more you run, the faster the end will come.

    Have fun!

    Rog and Eileen

  2. Pingback: British 10K…..Done! « lynne2thin

  3. Pingback: Tomorrow, Tomorrow… | lynne2thin

Leave a Reply

