The Truth of the Matter.

Obesity

Image via Wikipedia

The honest truth is that I’ve spent the last year of my life half-heartedly trying to lose weight. Half-hearted isn’t good enough. I’ve become ashamed and embarrassed when I see people and they comment on me having lost some weight, because I know it should’ve been more. I accept their compliments, but I feel as if I’ve not just cheated them, but that I’ve cheated myself. I feel as though I’ve wasted a year just talking bull***t…..smoke and mirrors baby, smoke and mirrors!

The thing is, I know why I should lose weight. There are so many reasons for me to just do this, but my heart’s just not in it. I was doing really well, but the last 2 months have been a real struggle for me and I’ve managed to put 3kg back on. Not acceptable. This is not how I want to live my life. Maybe I should start scaring myself into losing weight!

I want to look like this again…..

Back in the old days with a friend!

Skinny Lynne!

NOT like this……

At my biggest... 😦

 

So, here are a few health reasons why I should take this more seriously:

1. I am at serious risk of developing diabetes. In a lot of cases, obesity is a huge factor in being diagnosed with diabetes and living a healthy lifestyle can go a long way to help prevent it. (Surely this alone would be reason enough to improve my health!)

2. Apparently there are various cancers that have been linked to obesity too (which frankly scares the bejeezus out of me!).

3. I am more likely to suffer from heart disease or have a stroke. The scary thing here, is that this already runs in my family, so you’d think I’d really make the effort to decrease the chances of me getting this.

4. Apparently being obese is very closely linked with Sleep Apnoea. I could stop breathing in my sleep, and in very severe cases it’s linked to symptoms of heart failure.

5. Joint problems are also a common problem linked to obesity. I’ve notices this quite often when I try to run or do something strenuous. I’m 27, for Pete’s sake and I have joint problems! Seriously.

6. Apparently about 40% of my body is covered and smothered in a layer of disgusting fat cells. I’ve been to one of those Bodies Exhibitions and looking at a diagonal slice through an obese person is enough to make you never want to eat again! (Although this apparently didn’t do the trick for me)

The list of health problems related to being obese or even overweight goes on and on. Surely theses things alone should scare the crap out of me, but no. I have this ridiculous attitude of “It’ll be fine….”. I’m in complete and utter denial when it comes to my weight. It’s as if I’m looking through tinted glasses and hoping that when I take them off, everything will be the way I want it to be. Surprise, surprise Lynne…..life doesn’t work that way. I have to do the hard work if I want to see the results.

I’m constantly making plans to lose weight, but unless I successfully act on them, I’m stuck. I’m not moving forward. In fact, I’m actually moving backwards at the moment. I know there’s a mental and emotional aspect to this too which I’m struggling with at the moment and which I’ll reveal in my next post.

In the meantime, I should probably print this out and stick it on the fridge as a daily reminder of what could happen to me if I don’t snap out of this and really DO something.

Rant over.Β  πŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “The Truth of the Matter.

      • lynne you are awesome – beautiful big or small! Much respect for your honesty. Love yourself,affirm it and re-affirm it everyday! Much love verity

  1. Keeping you in my prayers. Dont be too hard on your self, remember no one is perfect, there is always room for improvement no matter what is may be. Just do your best and forgot the rest.

    I use to use livestrong.com to track my food and eat 5 – 6 meals a day. If you take 100% i eat 40% carbs, 40% protein and 20% fat. We do not eat enough protein now a days. One can have a cheat mel a day or like me not enough will power I have a cheat day a week. Eating bad is good as it reset your metabolism.

    I hope this helps hun.

    If you need anything let me know.

    Be blessed
    Carla

    • Thanks so much for you kind words Carla! Every day is a battle and there are good days and bad days. It’s just a bit frustrating sometimes!
      It’s great to know I have so much support and I really appreciate everyone taking the time to read my blog!
      Tomorrow’s another day and I will try again! πŸ˜‰
      xxx

  2. My babe, we all love you and your honesty is amazing!
    A day at a time my friend, you will reach your goal, but loosing weight takes time! Be patience and don’t be so hard on yourself.

    Look for ways to be more active, like walk more, do more outdoor activities with Greg and don’t think of it as a diet but rather as a healthy lifestyle coz you deserve to be healthy and feel good about yourself!

    Lots of love and hugs

    Barbs

    • Hey Barbs!
      Thanks for always writing such lovely things…..
      I’m hoping to make a few changes soon, but will update you guys as soon as. So keep reading! πŸ™‚
      xxx

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to read my blog and for your kind words. I really appreciate it! πŸ™‚
      I’ve just signed up to follow your blog, so maybe we can inspire each other! πŸ™‚
      Have a fabulous day x

Leave a Reply

