A New Direction!

I’ve spent the last year trying to lose weight by going it on my own. I’ve discovered that it’s simply not possible – for me at least. Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure there are loads of people out there that can set goals for themselves, put their minds to it and through will power and determination achieve them. Unfortunately, I’m not one of those people.

Now, I’m not saying that I can’t achieve anything on my own, I just need help doing it. I’ve admitted to this on many occasions, but I struggle with will power and I never follow through with anything. I always choose to take the easy way out, because I get stuck when things get too difficult. I always end up making excuses and justify them not just to myself, but to others too. I always have to find a way of doing something that makes it as easy as possible and still allows me to achieve results. Basically, I try to find a way to squeeze something into my life without disrupting it too much…..I’m DONE with that! It doesn’t work.

Pretending only works for so long!

When I started this blog, my main aim was to lose weight and to achieve that through various lifestyle changes. Well, I have made a few changes, but none of them have really changed the way I think about my weight and I’ve just squeezed those changes into a lifestyle that isn’t conducive to weight loss. I then embarked on these changes with enthusiasm and excitement. However, at the end of the day, these changes weren’t enough to help me achieve my ultimate goal. I need to tackle this from a different angle!

Not too long ago, I had a good friend over for dinner. She’s been so supportive of me from the get go, but made a suggestion. Weight Watchers. I admit, I did flinch a little at the thought of joining. I’m not sure why….I suppose I always tried to convince myself that this was something I could achieve without going to group meetings and that I didn’t want to follow a specific eating plan, etc. I know it sounds crazy, but somehow I thought that by joining Weight Watchers, it would make all of this too real. I felt that it was proof that I wasn’t strong enough to do it on my own. Well, my friend asked me to at least think about it and I did. I thought about it for almost two weeks and I’ve decided to join.

At this point, I’m willing to try anything new. What have I got to lose, right? I wanted to put myself out there and get out of my comfort zone. So instead of joining the Online Weight Watchers option, I’ve chosen to join the meetings. It’ll force me into actual contact with others that feel the same way I do. I’m nervous, but excited at the same time! I’ve got my very first meeting tomorrow, so will let you know how it goes……All I can say at the moment is: Watch this space!

This might just be what ends up working for me! 🙂

xxx

photo courtesy of http://www.someecards.com

7 thoughts on “A New Direction!

  1. hi Lynne. It’s scary I know, i feel the same way, but my sister has proved me wrong. She went to a nutritionist about 3 or 4 months ago, and laid down some hard cash to loose weight. The nutritionist acts as a support, encouraging her, and possibly being a bit of a guilt trip (in terms of if she cheats, she feels like she is letting herself and her guide down). But i think the biggest thing for her was that she spent a lot of her hard earned cash and wanted to make it worthwhile. There’s nothing wrong getting support from people who understand your cause the most. If you have them, watching your friends and boyfriend eat whatever they like while you cant isnt so bad. Some of us are not built the same way, and actually fighting with weight could be considered the same struggle as that with alcoholism.. Good luck babe!

    • Thanks Kat! I think things have just got to a point where I feel like I’m failing myself and all of you guys reading my blog. I can keep trying to do what I’m doing, but it’s not working. At the end of the day, I know myself and I have to simultaneously make changes that I know will suit me, challenge me and get me out of my comfort zone. It’s really scary doing this, but it was terrifying sending this blog out for the first time and now I don’t know what I’d do if I wasn’t able to write down my thoughts and without all the amazing support I receive from all of you! Let’s hope I’ve picked the winning strategy this time! xxx

  2. You are so open and honest about how you feel and the person you are, that is an amazing quality to have! You are well aware of the situation and what you need to do, you are not in denial and know the person you are! I admire that and be proud of it my friend!

    All the best of luck, this is another new experience you are embarking on, embrace it and have fun!

    xxx

    • Thanks so much Barbs! I’m attending my first meeting tomorrow evening, so will be updating everyone on how it goes. A bit nervous, but I’m sure it’ll be good! Couldn’t hurt to try, right? xxx

  3. Pingback: Hopefully the first of many! | lynne2thin

Leave a Reply

