Hopefully the first of many!

It was with a fair amount of trepidation that I walked into my first ever Weight Watchers meeting this evening. I genuinely did not know what to expect from it and I felt completely out of my comfort zone. As I mentioned in my earlier post, I decided to join the meetings instead of simply using their online tools. I just felt that it would force me to tackle things from a bit of a different angle, and besides, I can’t hide behind a computer screen forever!

Well, I felt really nervous going in, but our Team Leader – a lovely lady called Sandy – really put me at ease. I did my very first “weigh in” (I clocked in at 86kg – excuse the boxing lingo!) and was a little relieved that I hadn’t really picked up any extra weight over the past month or so. The actual weigh in wasn’t so bad…..there’s a whole bunch of ladies queuing to get weighed (no cattle references intended! Heheheheee), but it’s done in a pretty confidential manner, so I never felt embarrassed about it. Besides, we’re all there for the same reason, right?

After this, the actual meeting started. It only lasts for about 20mins and only consisted of Sandy and about 10 other attendees. It’s just a bit of a group discussion and everyone encourages each other and listens to what they have to say. However, I did really like the message of the meeting tonight…..

THE HARDER SOMETHING IS TO DO, THE GREATER YOUR SENSE OF ACCOMPLISHMENT WILL BE ONCE YOU COMPLETE IT. 

What I'm aiming for! 🙂

Nothing in life is easy, but the things really worth doing will quite often be the hardest. But those things you’ve worked the hardest for, will be the things you’re most proud of. We also spoke about how easy it is to quit when you lose motivation. The difference between failure and success is that even if you fall off the wagon, you have enough courage and strength to get back on and soldier forth. All you have to do is keep sight of the light at the end of the tunnel. That it success. Well, those were our main points of discussion. It really hit home, especially recently with my epic will power struggle!

All in all, I feel really good about tonight. Not only do their eating plans seem simple and achievable, but I like the sense of accountability of getting weighed every week. It just adds extra incentive to work extra hard. I’ve got to start working on some menus for this week which I’m excited about. It’s always interesting and fun trying new recipes and ideas.

In closing, I think what I liked the most about the meeting this evening was the sense of community. Now, I’ve never been one for overly “soppy” gestures and being all “pally-pally” with people I don’t know. But I loved the fact that we were all there for one reason. Nobody tried to skirt the issue and all the women (of all ages, might I add!) were just open and upfront about how they felt. It all just felt simple and honest. Nobody felt ashamed or embarrassed to be there and I think to me, that was the best bit.

Week One…….Commencing!! 🙂

photo courtesy of http://www.someecards.com

2 thoughts on “Hopefully the first of many!

  1. YAY to you! Congrats my friend for attending your 1st meeting. I’m very happy that you enjoyed it and realized that this is what will help you say motivated. I can imagine it can be a benefit as you are now a team so to say, you will every week share your challenges and successes with a group of people who are in the same situation as you – all are there for the same reason, you will be each others inspirations!

    Lots of love
    xxx

    • Thanks Barbs! It went really well & I liked the tools they give you to get things on track. I’m going to spend this week mainly experimenting with different foods and just getting my head around things. Very excited! xx

Leave a Reply

