Wrapping up Week One….

It’s been an interesting week, but I’ve really enjoyed it! I’ve just completed my first ever week on Weight Watchers. So, what did I think?

Well, it’s taken a while to wrap my head around their ProPoints system, but I’m slowly getting used to it. As I’ve said before, I really like their approach to food. It’s not a diet, but rather a more conscious way of thinking about what you’re eating. It also allows you to eat what you want, as long as you don’t go over your allocated points for the day, which means you have to find innovative ways of mixing and matching food. With this in mind, I’ve been trying some new recipes, some of which are definitely keepers (maple syrup and pear pancakes!) and others I’m not too keen on (beef and papaya salsa wraps…blegh!). Overall, I love trying new things and I know how to fill out meals without using up a lot of points, which is great!!

Losing weight....

As for the rest of my 9 Things for November, I’ve been doing okay this week. For 4 days this week, I didn’t even switch on the telly. Some days were a little harder than others, but overall I think I’ve been able to get more done. On week nights, instead of rushing around just before bed time, everything was done and I even had time for some reading in bed. I woke up more refreshed and slept more soundly which was fantastic! It really is amazing what you have time for by doing something as simple as switching off the TV!

Switching off the Telly!

Also, because we’ve had the telly off, we’ve been eating at the dinner table more often. It’s really nice to have a decent conversation with Greg without having to wait for ad breaks! Another great result of switching off the telly, is that I’m drinking less wine. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had a few glasses this week, but because I’m keeping myself busy in the evenings, I just don’t have time to sit back and down one glass of vino after another.

Trying to consume less vino....easier said than done!

Gym wise, things haven’t gone exactly according to plan. I only went once this week and felt a little unfit, but I still did a good 30mins on the treadmill and also some cross trainer and weights exercises. I really wanted to go for my first Pilates class on Saturday, but I’m sick again. I gave Greg my “cooties”, and now in a weird twist of fate, he’s given me back my “cooties”. This meant that I’ve basically spent the weekend wrapped up in bed or on the couch, so exercise got shifted to the back burner for now. Hopefully I’ll feel a bit better next week and hit that treadmill again!

Getting back into the Gym routine!

Overall, I’ve had a really good week. I’ve got my second Weight Watchers meeting tomorrow evening and I really hope that I’ve lost a little weight. It doesn’t have to be a life changing amount, but just a little bit for encouragement would be great. So, I haven’t managed all the points on my “to do list” so far, but I’m working on them!

XXX

photos courtesy of http://www.pixabay.com

Leave a Reply

