My Photography….The Beginning!

This is not necessarily a post about weight loss, but it does have something to do with my New Year’s Resolutions – Change. One of my resolutions is to improve my photography and I’m really excited about that. I’ve always been passionate about photography, but I feel as if I finally have the means to really learn what to do behind the lens. I got a Canon 550D for my birthday last year and I’ve been messing around with it quite a bit. Mainly, I’ve figured out you need a degree to operate the thing! There is so much I need to learn and this is the year that I’m going to do it.

So, I wanted to share a few of my favourite photographs I took in 2011, with the hope that I can share my improved images with you all in a few months time. It’s just a few snaps of various places I’ve been to this year, so I hope you guys like them!

The two photos below are of my cat, Puddy. They were just taken at home and conveys her mood brilliantly. First of having her cleaning rituals interrupted and second, of being made to wear a ridiculous Santa Suit!

Angry Cat.

Christmas Puddy.

The picture below was taken at Winter Wonderland in Hyde Park. I was messing around with shutter speed and low lighting to create the round about movements of the ride. It’s still a work in progress!

One of the rides at Winter Wonderland in London.

The two photos below are of castles I really liked and each has a bit of its own character.

York Castle. The geese are most certainly not heeding the sign!

The Tower of London.

The following photos were taken in various places in the UK and are mainly nature related. From the miniature to the larger than life.

Autumn Walk on Box Hill, Surrey.

Sunrise on Leith Hill, Surrey.

Bee. Chelsea Flower Show, London.

Storm Brewing, Edinburgh.

The following photos were taken in Paris when we were there for a few days in May. I took so many photos, so had to pick just a few to share today.

View of Paris from the Sacre Coeur.

Musical Lady at the foot of the Basilique du Sacre Coeur, Paris.

The Seine, with the Eiffel Tower in the background. Paris.

The last set of photos are mainly War themed. We took my Dad on a tour of the France & Belgian Battle Fields earlier this year. Here are some of my favourite photos of the trip.

American Cemetery, Omaha Beach. France.

Beach, Courseulles-Sur-Mer. France.

"They Did Not Pass" - War Memorial honouring the French. France.

Mine Craters. Hill 62, Sanctuary Wood. Belgium.

Peace. American War Memorial, Verdun. France.

Peace. American War Memorial, Verdun. France.

Well, that’s it folks. Thanks for having a look!

xxx

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My Photography….The Beginning!

Leave a Reply

