No Excuses.

I’ve been lazy. Really lazy. I’ve been indulging for the last few weeks and now I’m done.

Knowing your body....

As per my last post, you’re all aware that I recently got my Indefinite Leave to Remain in the UK (which I’m totally psyched about!), but I spent the following week “celebrating“, which then culminated in 3 weeks of “celebration“. So can see where I’m going with this….

I’ve been making up one excuse after another about why I haven’t been to the gym or why I’m eating an entire plate of Mac & Cheese (besides it being delicious!), and the list goes on!

So, I had 2 wake up calls this week….the first occurred when I was walking into work – sans make-up & crazy hair – and I caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror. Now, I’m the kind of person who usually just skims at their reflection and never really stops for a closer examination, so this came as quite a shock. The bright flourescent light didn’t help either! Well, it appears that my second chin has come back for a rendezvous with the original and they appear to be best buds at the moment; my belly – albeit very satisfied – is happily spilling over my jeans again; and my ass definitely has a plumper feel about it. All in all….not good.

The second wake up call was when I logged out of my Yahoo account and came across the following news story...

http://uk.health.lifestyle.yahoo.net/surprising-health-problems-of-being-obese.htm

To sum up, it basically lists surprising health problems linked to obesity. Out of the 10 problems listed, about 4 or 5 apply to me. I’m not giving it all away, so I’ll let you all guess which ones I’m referring to. It’s super scary though. I don’t want my life to revolve around damage control just because I’m lazy!

Now, I know I’ve said this a million times and you guys have heard me say this a million times, but I’ve got to get my fat arse back in gear! I’ve got a lot going for me at the moment (but that news for another post), and I’m feeling really positive. So, it’s back to the health grind.

There might be people out there reading this, who might feel tired of me repeating myself when it comes to all the resolutions I keep making, but please don’t disregard how difficult this really is. It’s a battle you fight with yourself every single day. It’s waking up with a positive mentality and making the best decisions you can every day. And sometimes you’ll have a bad day. It’s as simple as that.

I know I’ve also said this before, but it’s not the falling off the horse, but it’s whether you get back on that counts!

So true!

XXX

photos courtesy of http://www.someecards.com

2 thoughts on “No Excuses.

  1. Lynn,no matter how much you lose or gain,please NEVER lose your sense of humour! Your blog cheers me up every time without fail! And i am sitting here,trying to suck my tummy in (unsucessfully) feeling my pants grow tighter every day…crap feeling! My excuse is that every time i try to exercise,something hurts! And on saturday,i slipped on a step in the rain and came down sooo hard on my bum,even my dogs rushed up to me and into my lap. I am now sporting a magnificent black and red and blue bum! I think i have re-distributed my fat and un-aligned all my bones,so going to chiropractor once swelling is down. Before that i felt very virtuous and climbed
    on our exercise machine,250 cycles and boom,there goes a muscle in my calf. Not easy,i know. But,at least we have a laugh:) x

    • Hahahaaa!! Thanks Verity….well, if you can’t make a joke and laugh about it, where’s the fun in life?
      Your story really made me laugh too…..hope you feel better & that huge bruise disappears soon! 🙂
      xxx

Leave a Reply

