The Difference a Little Snip Makes!

My friend Debbie & I made plans to go out last week Friday, and very wisely, she said “Well, we can’t go out without getting our hair done!”. It turns out they were very wise words indeed!

Well, thanks to Debbie’s fantastic negotiation skills, we got our hair done together on the Friday afternoon. I always feel so embarrassed going to the hairdressers because getting my hair done is a bit of a luxury for me. I don’t always have the money to splash out Β£45 every couple of months. So by the time I sat down in the salon last week, it had probably been about 9 months since my last cut. My hair was in a state! Then the inevitable questions follow…..“When did you last cut your hair?”; “Did you colour it yourself then?”; or “I see you’ve got a few split ends here.”….A few would be an understatement! Well, this “salon interrogation” always leaves me a bit embarrassed, so the quicker it’s done with the better. The grey hairs don’t help either……

When confronted with the question “How would you like it cut?”, I had one answer……just cut it! I explained to the stylist lady that I had lost a bit of weight recently and really wanted a different look, at which point she got quite excited. In a way I really wantedΒ  her to cut a big chunk of my hair off, but she explained that by cutting off a little (which turned out to be almost 2 inches in the end anyway!) would still make it look great and just by styling it differently, I could achieve a totally different look. So I gave her the green light……

I’m going to let you all make up your own minds. Here’s the before….

THE BEFORE PICTURE OF THE TWO OF US…….

And the after…..

THE AFTER PICTURE!

I left the salon feeling absolutely fantastic! It’s amazing what a massive difference a great haircut makes. It gave me such confidence…..I felt like a million bucks I tell you! πŸ™‚ Before getting my haircut, I felt so drab and boring. I really want to start making more of an effort to improve “my look” so to speak. Even just making a small effort every day makes a difference.

Debbie & I went on to have an amazing night out. I possibly even got hit on (I think)….something that hasn’t happened in years! Honestly.

Now, the only problem stemming from a new haircut, is when you eventually get to the point where you have to wash it……how to get it looking the same as when you left the damn salon. That’s the real challenge! πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “The Difference a Little Snip Makes!

    • Thanks Rosie!! Man, I feel great…..seriously, something so small as cutting your hair makes such a huge difference. I really have to keep it up now and now let things slip back into disarray! πŸ™‚

  1. You both looked amazing – hope you had a wicked night out – i imagine you were a bit worse for wear the next day ;o) x

  2. Oh you look so lovely! I have so much of my self esteem attached to my hair, I do not know how you go so long without getting it done! Insanity πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks Hun! I know, I’m really bad, but there always seems to be something else that comes up which takes precedent over getting my hair done. I’ll definitely try to do better in the future! πŸ™‚

  3. Love the hair! I do the same thing where I leave it for ages because I can’t afford to get it trimmed and then when I go to the salon I feel I have to explain why it is in such a horrible state. lol.

    • Thanks!! I’m still in love with my new hair. Isn’t it a shame that something so simple can make you feel so much better. I really need to keep up with styling my hair now….No more excuses! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

