The Way Things Stand.

Alright, so I haven’t posted in some time. I can come up with various excuses, but I’m going to cut to the chase. I’ve spent the last two months moving house, doing ridiculous amounts of overtime at work, spent two weeks in Morocco (a well deserved holiday might I add!), which hasn’t really allowed me much time to blog. Excuses, I know, but true none the less. Even on the few occasions when I finished work early, I’ve been exhausted by the time I get home and tend to just have dinner and go to bed.

Now, I’m aware that over the last few months, I’ve been promising time and time again that I’m back with a vengeance and that I’ve just momentarily lost my way. However, this time is the real deal, and here’s why….

  • I’m planning on going home to South Africa for a holiday early next year. I need to be slimmer than I am now by the time I fly. Why? My weight always seems to be this huge “issue” and people can’t seem to get past it. I’m not blaming people for being shocked when they see me (I’ve gained LOADS of weight over the years!), but I just feel like that’s all that matters sometimes. I know I want to lose weight and feel better about myself, and I want to go home and not feel as if my weight is the main topic of conversation….or the massive elephant in the room! (No pun intended….heheheee!)
  • I have two weddings to go to next year. Everyone knows you get to spend money on a new dress for a wedding, and I sure as hell want that new dress to be in a smaller size. Period.

Well, that’s that. I want to lose as much as possible before going home next year because I’m tired of making promises to myself and breaking them. It’s finally time that I grow up and follow through.

Seriously. No more excuses.

xxx

PS: Here’s proof that I really was in Morocco, not just lying on the couch at home!  😉

Me, in the main square, Djeema El Fna, Morocco

2 thoughts on “The Way Things Stand.

  1. Motivation is motivation! Good for you! I must say that one of the top factors in my determination has been impressing my father, who was often quite mean to me when I was a child for being overweight. It’s been something I struggled with on this journey, but it’s also played a role in keeping me on track in some ways too.

    Hope you get back into a routine nicely 🙂

    • Thanks hun! I struggle with the same thing….it’s always this big deal when I go home to S.A, when I just want to talk about normal stuff and enjoy my holiday. It just becomes this major “issue” as if it’s the only thing that matters! Can’t stand it, but I suppose there’s only one way to change that! 😉

Leave a Reply

