So….

I’ve bitten the bullet and after 3 months of a pretty sedentary lifestyle (and indulgent holiday, might I add!), I’ve signed up to gym again.

After moving house recently, I had to cancel my previous gym membership as there was no similar chain close to me. Well, I’ve found an awesome gym just under a mile from our house, and am pretty confident that I’ll be going regularly. Reason being, is that I have 6 months to lose as much as I can (in a sensible way!) because I’m going home on holiday in April next year. My weight has always been such a big deal and I want to step on South African soil as “Cool & Confident Lynne”, not “I’m dying of heat because I refuse to take off my jumper for fear of everyone seeing my flabby arms and big pot belly Lynne”!! Well, that’s the plan anyway….

I’ve got my gym induction tomorrow evening and I’m surprisingly excited. It’ll be really good to do some exercise again. I’ve been feeling really gross lately and I know I have to get my lazy butt in the gym.

Also, I’m getting back into counting my calories on MyFitnessPal and logging my exercise on DailyMile. It’s good to have a routine to stick to and motivate yourself that way too.

I’m also fully aware that I’ve been saying all of this for a while and nothing ever seems to go anywhere, but I know I’m determined and I can do this. I don’t expect people to believe me, because I haven’t really earned that over the last few months, but all I can ask is….watch this space. And wish me good luck at the gym tomorrow evening…..I just know I’m going to be in all kinds of pain! 🙂

6 thoughts on “So….

  1. Good luck Lynne…

    Now is the perfect time to start back at the gym! Get a head start before Christmas!
    Open the door to 2013 feeling great!

    Focus your mindset on what you do want, like ‘I’m looking forward to reaching my target weight!” rather than focusing on trying to lose weight! Start off on the right track, book a trainer! Observe them all, be sure to observe techniques/approaches and Client attention, only purchase single sessions not blocks so you maintain control. Vary your weekly exercise routine/s and pamper yourself with frequent massage/treatments. Stress has a firm handle on preventing weight loss and reducing your focus! Relaxation has a funny way of supercharging multiple aspects of your life, including weight management.

    Good Luck!

    • Thanks for the inspiration Justin! I really need to get myself organised and get my butt in gear right now. I’ve got 6 months to do some really hard work before my holiday and I want to stop not only letting myself down, but everyone who reads my blog. I always seem to be all talk and no action, but I’m determined to make a change!
      Thanks for reading & commenting….really appreciate it. All I can say is….watch this space! 🙂

      • Hi Lynn.

        Rather than putting a time frame around what you hope to achieve, try placing a new perspective on your life and the wonderful things around us! Some people will not see tomorrow, some peoples lives will change today as a result of someone else’s doing. Each breath that you draw has come your way to empower you with another moment of something! Embrace it, you wanna look different??? Then you have to start feeling different! Be the smiles and joy that you wish to see in the eyes and souls of others. Take a risk!!! spend an entire day smiling at people, obviously within reason :))) Don’t fixate on the simple things… like trying to be thin! In my field I have come across many slim women! The smiles have to exist on the inside!

        Secret advice to getting slimmer….??? Relax!

        All the best
        Justin

      • Hi Justin!

        I totally agree with what you’re saying and I do try really hard to do this every day, but sometimes it really is easier said than done.

        I’ve recently been made redundant from work, and I’m absolutely terrified, but it’s also really exciting. I think it’s an opportunity for me to make the most of things and just go out there and pursue what I’ve always wanted to. It might not be easy, but I’m taking risks and pushing myself out of my comfort zone.

        Sometimes I do feel a bit down about it, but I try looking at the positive each day….it is a work in progress though! 🙂

  2. Good Luck Lynne. I returned to yoga a couple months ago – after not going for ages – Shew feels good to be in touch with my body again. You’ll be great. And can’t wait to see you in SA next year – well if you swing through jo-burg that is?

    • Thanks Rosie! I am really looking forward to it, so will keep you posted. I just know I’m going to be hurting tomorrow morning….:-) xx
      ps: will e-mail you about S.A!

Leave a Reply

