2014 – The Blank Page.

Happy 2014 one and all…..I hope it’s been wonderful so far and that everyone celebrated in style!

(I’m not going to bore everyone with excuses for not writing for over 9 months, so let’s skip right over that. I want to start writing again and will be doing so for good in 2014)

I can honestly say that 2013 was exceptionally good to me. It started with redundancy and ended with a new job that I love, turning 30 and finally becoming a British citizen. Over the last 12 months, I have proved to myself that I can achieve so much if I just put my mind to it. Without a doubt, I was terrified of failing at so much and I have always been my biggest critic but this year I’ve shown that I am worth something.

The one thing I was unable to achieve and failed at miserably in 2013 was losing weight. There are a million reasons why and I only have myself to blame for not achieving what I wanted to. I want this year to be different – I’ve shown myself that I can achieve things if I really want to, so why not this?

Usually I don’t really believe in setting resolutions because nobody ever sticks to them anyway. However, I want this year to be different, so I’ve given it some thought and have come up with a small handful of things I’d like to change…

1. Lose 5 stone
I know this sounds pretty general, but this is what I need to lose and I will do what I can to achieve this. I’ve registered with the gym and will be doing more outdoor activities to this end. Also, I am cutting out all alcohol for the whole of January and if anyone knows me, they know how hard that’ll be!

2. Eat healthier
I want to start shopping more intelligently which means more fresh vegetables and knowing where my food comes from. Included in this is more innovative cooking and being less wasteful. You are what you eat, right?

3. Learn more
Whether that is to help me in my job, or generally enriching my personal life. I’m not a stupid person, and want to be more knowledgeable. Whatever I can do to better that, I will!

4. Technology time-outs
It shocks me when I start thinking about the time I spend in front of the television, on my phone or on a computer. There is so much I can do with all that time, so 3 days a week I won’t be switching on the telly at all and will be applying myself in some other way – whether that’s painting, reading a book, going for a walk or anything else. As long as it doesn’t involve anything technological!

5. Say ‘Yes’ more often
I want to do more and live more – that involves saying yes, when sometimes I don’t want to. Perhaps it’s turning thirty that’s got my mind reeling a little, but the years seem to be going by a lot faster the older you get. I don’t want to blink and find that I’ve missed so many great things in my life if only I’d said yes!

Well, that’s it – keeping it simple and achievable. As promised, I’ll be blogging a lot more often this year, so if you’d like…..do keep reading.

Here’s to 2014 being awesome!

xxx

11 thoughts on “2014 – The Blank Page.

  1. Welcome back! I hope 2014 is everything that you want and need. On the “staying motivated” front, myself and three other women have a new project, http://www.90secondsofreal.wordpress.com where we post short daily videos of whatever we’re cheering for, struggling with or trying to get accomplished. Might be something that could help, knowing that we’re all struggling with essentially the same crap from varying angles. 🙂

    • Thanks a million Shanny – feels good to be back! So much got in the way over the last few months and I’m tired of making excuses. Hopefully 2014 will be the year I finally achieve what I want to weight wise. Your project looks really cool – let me know what the process is or how to be a part of it. Thanks again for the encouragement! x

      • Morning! You seem so excited about the new year and everything that it will hold, you make me excited for you! We’re going to get 90 Seconds of Real off the ground and then we’ll definitely be looking for weekly guest-vloggers and eventually bringing new people on board, we’re very excited about the whole thing! I’ll make sure you get kept in the loop when we’re ready for that!

  2. LYNNE2THIN IS BACK!!!!! YAY!!!!!! Boy am I happy to see this email in my inbox, have missed reading your blogs!! Delighted to hear you’ll be doing more this year ;O)))) Ok, so! Birthday/Xmas/New Years drinks… will defo be in touch soon to arrange ;O)) XxX

    Date: Wed, 1 Jan 2014 17:36:58 +0000 To: deb_005@hotmail.co.uk

  3. Pingback: 10 days later…. | lynne2thin

Leave a Reply

